A New Found Hope for a New Year

Uncategorized

Ah, here we are. We’ve made it to a new year and maybe to some, a new life. I’m so happy to be alive and standing right now. New Year’s Eve was a magical event that played out right in my home. It was a time that was so dear and special to me because I was surrounded with my intermediate family and my boyfriend. We sat there with our tummies full, because we ate like Kings, and told each other what we felt like we learned and accomplished in the past year of 2014. We also spoke of our dreams and hopes for bettering ourselves and our lives for the new year of 2015.

Everyone had such diverse experiences and I almost choked on my words when it came to my turn, because I felt so emotional about what happened this past year. A lot of ups and a lot of downs, but I feel like I have become such a stronger person in my faith and in my character. I found a new hope that I would carry on and continue in this new year and every year after that. Once you have a grasp of life and your presence here on Earth, and just how powerful it is, you can never let that go. Our feet are planted on this Earth for a unique and specific reason for each and everyone, and we are meant to breathe in this life to it’s fullest. God is such a loving God, and he has blessed us with far more than we can even fathom.

To be able to take in every single moment, capture every special memory, and smile with the biggest gum-showing grin is what we were meant to do. That is what I thrive to do this year; to capture my special moments by developing  and growing in my Photography, to never take anything for granted, to meet someone new everyday and to love like I’ve never loved before.

And as the ball dropped and we all gathered around the living room counting down from “5.. 4.. 3.. 2.. 1”, I looked at every expression on every face. I felt the happiness and joy vibrate off the walls of the room, and I gave a sparkling peach juice toast to my dear boyfriend and leaned in for my first New Years kiss ever.

I couldn’t have asked for a different way in celebrating New Years, or a different set of people to spend it with.

So let’s raise our glasses and here’s a toast, 2015, We’re ready for you.

-Kat A.


IMG_3610

IMG_3611

IMG_3624

IMG_3626


IMG_3635
IMG_3637 IMG_3643 IMG_3645

Leave a Reply

